Posted on Thursday 25th October, 2018

After another massive NSW Junior Regional Championships, our Hornets teams fought to the very end with 4 out of the 6 divisional grand finals being contested by Hornets sides.

The Sydney Scorpions, however, continued their dominance of the Junior Regionals claiming their 9th consecutive Regional Championship title, closly followed by us.

The Scorpions claimed three of the six divisions on offer.

Whilst the Scorpions were dominant they were pushed to the limits yet again by our ever-improving Hunter Western Hornets teams, who also participated in four finals and claimed two titles in Boys 14’s and Boy’s 18 divisions. Sydney Mets also claimed the 16 Boys Division for their lone title.


Final Results

14 Girls: Sydney Scorpions 3 def Northern Eagles 2

Player of the Final: Emily Smith Sydney Scorpions


14 Boys: Hunter Western Hornets 4 def Sydney Scorpions 3

Player of the Final: Elijah Faalua Hunter Western Hornets


16 Girls: Sydney Scorpions 4 def Southern Suns 3

Player of the Final: Kiiahla Duff Sydney Scorpions


16 Boys: Sydney Mets 6 def Hunter Western Hornets 1

Player of the Final: Liam Tompi Sydney Mets


18 Girls: Sydney Scorpions 5 def Hunter Western Hornets 2

Player of the Final: Faith Nathan Sydney Scorpions


18 Boys: Hunter Western Hornets 6 def Sydney Mets 3

Player of the Final: Kurt Donoghue Hunter Western Hornets


2018 Good Sports Team

Northern Eagles Boys 18s


Regional Championships

1st Sydney Scorpions 69pts

2nd Hunter Western Hornets 64pts

3rd Sydney Mets 53pts

4th Northern Eagles 24pts

5th Sydney Rebels 14pts

6th Southern Suns 10pts


All results for the event can be found here



At the 2018 Junior Regionals, the NSW Touch Football Selectors identified the merit teams for each of the 6 divisions. Each team comprises of 5 Middles, 5 Links, 3 Wingers and a Utility player. These positions are selected on the basis of where players played for their team across the event.

The following Hornets players were selected in these sides:


14 Girls NSW Touch Football Merit Team




14 Boys NSW Touch Football Merit Team

Hornets Christopher LENNON





Hornets Elijah FAALUA


16 Girls NSW Touch Football Merit Team

Andi LAW


16 Boys NSW Touch Football Merit Team


Isaiah OLSEN

Hornets Kaya ARDITA




NSW Touch Football does not select merit teams from the 18’s divisions. Players are instead identified as potential squad members for the NSWTA Development Teams which participate at the National Youth Championships in September. The final squads of these are completed post-State School Team selections (CCC, CHS & CIS) and will be announced in July.

See full lists here.